English Language Arts · School

Howell Mountain Elementary

85 students enrolled in 2024–25: 62 fluent in English, 21 English learners, and 2 not yet assessed.

Howell Mountain Elementary: English Language Arts, distance from Standard Met-300-200-1001002000Meets standardUpper limit 57.2Lower limit −107.8Average −25.3Tested2015452016Not reported2017112018242019112020No tests (COVID)2021Not reported2022262023382024232025Not reported202623Houses: share of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. Higher house, fewer eligible.2015: 49% of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. The higher the house, the fewer eligible.49%2016: 38% of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. The higher the house, the fewer eligible.38%2017: 43% of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. The higher the house, the fewer eligible.43%2018: 53% of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. The higher the house, the fewer eligible.53%2019: 53% of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. The higher the house, the fewer eligible.53%2021: 26% of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. The higher the house, the fewer eligible.26%2022: 51% of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. The higher the house, the fewer eligible.51%2023: 59% of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. The higher the house, the fewer eligible.59%2024: 67% of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. The higher the house, the fewer eligible.67%2025: 60% of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. The higher the house, the fewer eligible.60%2026: 53% of students eligible for free or reduced-price meals. The higher the house, the fewer eligible.53%−403−818−44−34−22−75
The shaded band is this school's normal range. If nothing about how it works changes, nearly every future year should land inside it. Zero means the typical student just meets the state standard. The small numbers under the years are how many students were tested.

Measured against the grade 3 bar

The state's English test uses one scale for every grade, so a score means the same thing in grade 3 as in grade 4.

Many students here are still learning English, and this test is given in English. In 2026, 14 of the 23 students who took the English Language Arts test were English learners.

  • 3rd The average 3rd grader scores 66 points under the grade 3 bar. 2366 vs. 2432.
  • 4th The average 4th grader scores 41 points under the grade 3 bar. 2391 vs. 2432. The 4th-grade bar is 2473.

2026 results. The English test covers reading, writing, listening and research together. "Meets standard" is the state's mark for being on track for that grade.